Saturday, October 18, 2008

The Book of Nonsense

Reading level: Ages 9-12
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Blooming Tree Books/CBAY; 1 edition (October 14, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1933767006
ISBN-13: 978-1933767000

Hailed as the “Da Vinci Code” for young adults, David Michael Slater brings us into the realm of the Sacred Book series. The first book in this series is The Book of Nonsense.

The story revolves around Daphna and Dexter, twins who are about to turn 13 years old. Dexter is a boy of action who has a tendency to skip school and roam the city streets. He has his own special place, a clearing in the nearby woods, where he likes to go and think. Daphna is following in the footsteps of her father and late mother by being interested in anything literary. She loves books and libraries, and she especially enjoys visiting books stores.

The children's father is away on business much of the time. He seeks out old books in other states and countries in order to turn around and sell them for a profit. His wife died on a book searching mission when the children were just babies. Now, his wife's best friend lives with the family as a full time governess and housekeeper.

In the beginning of this book, Daphna is excited about a new book store that has opened in town, and this store only carries books related to magic. The mysterious store owner, Asterius Rash, is only interested in one particular book - The Book of Nonsense. Soon Daphna and Dexter come under the spell of Rash and their lives are turned upside down.

The Book of Nonsense is a book from the beginning of time. Old and worn, it has been mutilated and burned. In order to hammer this point home, the first book in the series is designed with "burnt" pages to give it authenticity. This book is full of action and adventure I'm sure young adults will enjoy. This is the first of a five book series, so it will be interesting to see what direction the story takes.

You can check out David Michael Slater's official website here.

No comments: